Marriage Equality List

There is much confusion about which states have what types of same-sex relationship laws.  We’ve compiled the list below to make it a bit easier to understand.  We will continue to update the list as the laws change.

If you have questions about the laws or the impact that they may have on you or your partner,  please contact us or post a comment below.  We really appreciate your feedback!

Allow marriage (listed by date of recognition, notwithstanding stays and/or appeals):Marriage Equality List

  1. New York (learn more)
  2. New Hampshire (learn more)
  3. Vermont (learn more here and here)
  4. Connecticut (learn more)
  5. Iowa (learn more)
  6. Massachusetts (learn more)
  7. Maryland (learn more)
  8. Maine (learn more)
  9. Washington (learn more)
  10. Washington DC (learn more)
  11. Delaware (learn more)
  12. Rhode Island (learn more)
  13. Minnesota (learn more)
  14. California (learn more)
  15. New Jersey (learn more)
  16. Hawaii (learn more and more)
  17. Illinois (learn more)
  18. Utah (learn more)
  19. New Mexico (learn more)
  20. Virginia (learn more)
  21. Texas  (enforcement stayed pending appeal – learn more and more)
  22. Oklahoma
  23. Michigan
  24. Arkansas  (as of May 16, 2014, there is a stay on same-sex marriages pending appeal)
  25. Idaho (enforcement stayed pending appeal – learn more)
  26. Pennsylvania (learn more)
  27. Oregon (learn more)
  28. Wisconsin
  29. Indiana
  30. Colorado (enforcement stayed pending appeal – learn more)
  31. Florida (learn more)
  32. Missouri
  33. Wyoming
  34. Nevada (learn more)
  35. North Carolina
  36. Kansas
  37. Alaska
  38. South Carolina
  39. Montana

Ruling that trial courts have the ability to hear divorce procedings terminating same-sex marriages created in other jurisdictions:

1. Kentucky (learn more)

2. Tennessee (enforcement stayed pending appeal –learn more and more)

3. Ohio (learn more)



More Federal Privileges to Extend to Same-Sex Couples


When Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC started the Nontraditional Couples and Families Practice in 2001, I would speak to groups about same-sex couples not having the ability to use any Federal laws regarding marital status .  There were about 1,400 laws from the Federal government unavailable to married same-sex couples. Then it became about 1,100 laws that same sex couples  were excluded from.  Now I am happy to say that the Obama administration and the Justice Department will instruct all of its employees across the country, for the first time, to give lawful same-sex marriage sweeping equal protection under the law in every program it administers.  In a new policy memo, the department will spell out the rights of married same-sex couples.

Some of the federal rights you now have are: the right to decline giving testimony that might incriminate your spouse, eligibility to jointly file bankruptcy, and 1,098 more!  I will place the list on our blog, when it is out.

For more information, please follow the links to the two news articles below:

Maureen B. Cohon, Esquire – Chair, Nontraditional Couples and Families Group



Judge Alarms Gay Parents by Finding Marriage Law Negates a Need for Adoption

A ruling by Brooklyn Surrogate’s Court judge, Margarita López Torres, on Jan. 6, has exposed one of the new legal complexities facing same-sex couples with children.

To see the full New York Times story, following the link below: